Luther’s Preface to the Romans

The famous preacher, John Wesley was, with great relief, secured once and for all, in the Christian Life as he heard the reading of Martin Luther’s Preface to the Romans.

295_Luther_Romans (Download for FREE)

This is what John Wesley recorded in his diary:

“24th May, 1738. In the evening I went very unwillingly to a Society in Aldersgate Street, where one was reading Luther’s Preface to the Epistle to the Romans. About a quarter before nine, while he was describing the change which God works in the heart through faith in Christ, I felt my heart strangely warmed. I felt I did trust in Christ, Christ alone for salvation; and an assurance was given me that He had taken away my sins, even mine, and saved me from the law of sin and death. I began to pray with all my might for those who had in a more special manner despitefully used me and presecuted me. I then testified openly to all there what I now felt in my heart.

May we all put our trust in Christ Jesus, and his faithfulness, and turn away from ourselves and look up to God our Father, and his Son Jesus, and give deep thanks for his justifying, judging, liberation, forgiving grace and mercy, in the crucifixion of Jesus. May the Spirit of God, be pleased to reveal Christ Jesus in us, and to us.

About Trevor

I lived at Myponga South, in South Australia, until I was 5. I started year one at Myponga Primary School when I was 4. I loved to play rounders, hand-tennis, football, brandy, red-rover cross over, tennis, table tennis, and even softball. I had a crack at cricket for a few years. In my first match I made 4 runs. I could bowl, but the run rate didn't improve much. I attended Willinga High School. Our bus often supplied cheap cigarettes to the kids from McLaren Vale and Willunga, Hmmn, Our farm had "almost" the first bulk-milk vat in South Australia. And we even got a cement track so the truck could get up the hill to collect the milk. Enough for now.
This entry was posted in Bible Books, John Wesley, Martin Luther, Romans and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

